Skip to content

New year reflections

by on February 17, 2014
Ferry leaving Newcastle en route to the Netherlands

Ferry leaving Newcastle en route to the Netherlands

2014 started with an unusually long and relaxing festive break. However, it did give me the chance to gain a bit of perspective, and to think about what I wanted to achieve this coming year (I admit that we are now in the second month of the year, but I did actually start drafting this post when in Delft earlier in January).

2014 has gotten off to a great start for me with my first visit to OTB Delft, where I met a great range of interesting and enthusiastic researchers led by Henk Visscher. Particularly inspiring was the work being undertaken by current PhD students; see, for instance an impressive range of recent publications. Although I was only there for a week, I got the chance to meet staff in the Industrial Design faculty, specifically Natalia Romero Herrera who is involved in the EU SUSlabs project. The details of my visit to Delft is worthy of a separate blog entry (just for the photographs alone!) and will follow along at another time. However, the break from St Andrews gave me the chance to reflect, and to establish a plan of work that I would like to achieve over the next 12 months.

Looking ahead, there are a number of conferences I’ve already submitted abstracts for (BEHAVE 2014, ENHR, Energy Systems) and others that I’m hoping to attend (e.g. the ESRC’s Research Methods Festival). I have also committed to 2014 being my year of writing so have a few different publications on the go (although I am reluctant to reveal my submission target publicly ;)) and this will definitely be my focus. Most importantly (and excitingly) is that this will be the year when I start collecting data for the Smarter Homes project.

Somewhere in amongst all of this activity, I’m hoping to continue with the energy prosumers work so that we can pursue some funding opportunities, and build on some collaborations at St Andrews which I’ve been developing over the past year.

In short, I’m hoping for a full and productive 2014.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

